Skip to content.

Release date: 6/9/09

*** Press Release ***

SAN FRANCISCO—Leonard Oats was declared World Champion of the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency’s (SFMTA) 47th annual Muni Cable Car Bell Ringing Contest, held today at noon in Union Square. The contest had two divisions, one for cable car Gripmen and Conductors and the other for local community representatives.

The winners in the division for cable car crew members were: First Place, Mr. Oats; Second Place, Frank Ware; and Third Place, Howard Woo. Today’s win was the third in a row for Oats.

The winners in the amateur division: First Place, “Scotty B” of KOIT; Second Place, Janelle Wang of ABC Ch. 7, View from the Bay; and Third Place, Aaron Jones of KBLX.

For both portions of the contest, the winners received a trophy and Mr. Oats also received a Grand Prize Bell from Trophy Masters. Other prizes included hotel stays, dinners and other gift certificates, which were donated by the Union Square Association, Shanghai 1930, Ghirardelli Chocolates, Joie de Vivre Hospitality, the American Automobile Association (AAA) and Macy’s.

The mistress of ceremony duties were once again graciously performed by comedienne Debi Durst. Entertainment was provided by The Slot Blades band comprised of Cable Car Grips and Conductors and performers from the Epiphany Productions Sonic Dance Theater’s San Francisco Trolley Dances.

Muni's 47th annual Cable Car Bell Ringing Contest was presented by the SFMTA with the generous support of its long-time partners: the Union Square Association and the Friends of the Cable Car Museum.

The SFMTA also wishes to thank Ghirardelli Chocolates, Shanghai 1930, AAA, Uncle Vito’s Pizza and Golden Gate Disposal and Recycling Company for their support.

telephone311 Free language assistance / 免費語言協助 / Ayuda gratuita con el idioma / Бесплатная помощь переводчиков / Trợ giúp Thông dịch Miễn phí / Assistance linguistique gratuite / 無料の言語支援 / 무료 언어 지원 / Libreng tulong para sa wikang Tagalog / คว“มช่วยเหลือท“งภ“ษ“โดยไม่เส’ยค่าใช้จ่าย


©2000-2013 San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency. All rights reserved.